Home » Uncategorized » These are a few of my favorite things

These are a few of my favorite things

Sometimes it’s nice to take stock of the little things in your life that bring you joy. Here’s what has me smiling lately:

Kumato You say tomato, I say Kumato. “What the hell are you talking about?” is probably what you are actually saying. Allow me to explain. It doesn’t get much better than a homegrown tomato in the summertime (someone even wrote a song about it), but when it’s January and you want a BLT fix, you’re kind of SOL. Unless you want to buy one of those hard, white, tasteless things that pass for tomatoes in the supermarket. Until now, that is. A Kumato is a brownish-greenish tomato, and, as tomatoes go, it is a homely little thing. When I gave a few to my parents, they discussed throwing them in the trash and not telling me. They didn’t think something so pitiful looking could taste good. But once they tried it, they were believers, too. Does it taste like a straight-from-the-garden Beefsteak? No, but when you want a tomato and can’t wait until July, it’s a mighty fine replacement.

 

Kumato

Not a pretty girl

 

LEGO Brick Separator Some of you might remember my feelings about LEGOs. Well, folks, I am here to tell you that this little tool has changed my life. It separates teeny tiny bricks with the greatest of ease and has reduced the number of broken nails and the amount of cursing around here. Sadly, however, it cannot prevent the pain of stepping on a LEGO in bare feet.

lego brick separator

Breaking up is easy to do

 

Emergen-C These little packets turn a glass of water into a vitamin-infused, subtly flavored treat. It’s a great way to increase your intake of water. In fact, this is about the only way my son will drink water. It’s a great alternative to crap-filled products like Mio. Pro Tip: Buy it at Whole Foods. They have the best price, a huge selection of flavors, and individual packets for sale (so you can try a lot of different kinds and see what you like).

 

Emergen C

Operator, this is an Emergen-C

 

Tom and Lorenzo Their reviews of Mad Men—especially their Mad Style posts—are genius. Every week I am amazed at their commentary. It’s really enriched my whole Mad Men viewing experience, and I can’t imagine watching MM now without TLO. Check it out here.

 

Smiling Betty

Even Betty approves

 

Now I want to hear about your favorite things!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “These are a few of my favorite things

  1. I use Emergen-C whenever I feel like I’m getting a cold. It’s amazing how quickly it knocks the cold out of my system. It’s one of my favorites. Hmmm…I love the apple slicers that make it so easy to eat apples and the mini blenders that mean I can have a smoothie in about five minutes.

Leave a Reply

